Timothy Tardibono selected as executive director of Oklahoma County Criminal Justice Advisory Council

Wednesday, February 14, 2018

Timothy Tardibono has been selected as the Executive Director of the Oklahoma County Criminal Justice Advisory Council under a contract approved with the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber last month.

Tardibono brings criminal justice, legal and governmental experience to the position. “Tim brings the right combination of passion for this work and experience pursuing collaborative public sector solutions that we need to help lead our council’s efforts,” said Clay Bennett, chairman of the Council. “This is an important step to have staff fully committed to supporting the council’s strategic initiatives.”

Tardibono was founder of the Family Policy Institute of Oklahoma. He also served five years as legal counsel to US Senator Tom Coburn, four years as assistant general counsel at the Oklahoma State Department of Health and five years as a policy analyst for Oklahoma’s Secretary of Health and Human Services. " I'm excited to join this effort that already has so much positive momentum,” said Tardibono. “Much work has been accomplished but there is still more work to do to bring justice to our neighbors in Oklahoma County. I'm ready to get to work helping the Council make sustainable changes and reforms. I am grateful to the Council for this important opportunity."

The Council was formed late last year through an interlocal agreement to institutionalize cooperation and planning for the criminal justice system in Oklahoma County. The council contracted with the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber to provide an employee to serve as the council’s executive director. The stated goals of the Council are to: study and evaluate the criminal justice system; collect and analyze data related to the criminal justice system; promote increased efficiency and effectiveness of the criminal justice system; recommend policies and programs to reduce recidivism, reduce jail population and increase community and public safety; recommend policies and practices to control the costs of criminal justice system and incarceration; and increase community support for the criminal justice system.

Council membership includes: a member of the Board of Oklahoma County Commissioners, Ray Vaughn; the Presiding Judge of the Oklahoma County District Court, Tim Henderson; the Court Clerk of Oklahoma County, Rick Warren; the District Attorney of Oklahoma County, David Prater; the Sheriff of Oklahoma County, PD Taylor; the Oklahoma County Public Defender, Bob Ravitz; the Commissioner of the Oklahoma Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services, Terri White; the City Manager of Oklahoma City, Jim Couch; the Presiding Judge of Oklahoma City Municipal Court, Philippa James; the Court Administrator of the City of Oklahoma City, LaShawn Thompson; the Chief of Police of Oklahoma City, Bill Citty; the City Manager of Edmond, Larry Stevens; the City Manager of Midwest City, Guy Henson; the President of the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, Roy Williams; and an additional representative designated by the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, Clay Bennett; and four community representatives designated by vote of the Council: Sue Ann Arnall, Pastor Theodis Manning, Dan Straughhan, and Tony Tyler.

The next meeting of the CJAC will be tomorrow, Thursday, Feb 15, at 3 p.m. at the Embark Conference Center, 431 W Main, Suite B

For additional information about the council or its work, visit www.smartsafeokco.com.