Oklahoma City Community Foundation Awards $217,500 to 145 Area High School Seniors

Thursday, April 12, 2012

by Cathy Nestlen

Oklahoma City, OK - The Oklahoma City Community Foundation Trustees awarded 145 area high school seniors with a total of $217,500 in scholar awards through the Community Foundation Scholars program. The recipients, who represent 51 public and private high schools located in four counties within central Oklahoma, will each receive a $1,500 scholarship for the 2012-2013 academic year.

"We believe our scholarship program is an investment in our community's future," says Nancy B. Anthony, executive director. "We are pleased to honor these deserving students with scholar awards that are made possible by many generous donors and their desire to provide opportunities for others."

Established through the Trustee Scholarship Initiative, the Community Foundation Scholars program rewards students who qualify in the following areas: students who might not otherwise qualify for awards based solely on academic standards, but have demonstrated that they are good students and good citizens; and students who will be the first in their family to attend college. First-generation students must apply as juniors and agree to complete a series of activities designed to prepare them for college. To ensure their students are eligible for the awards, each school's guidance counselor must participate in the Central Oklahoma Guidance Counselor Network, a free program that provides training opportunities on college admissions and financial aid practices.

In 1998, the Trustee Scholarship Initiative was created to encourage more students in central Oklahoma to further their education after high school. In addition to the Community Foundation Scholars program, the Initiative includes scholarship programs for students who graduate from high school while in Oklahoma's foster care system, adult students and nurses. Since its inception, the Initiative has awarded $4.37 million in scholarship funds to 3,947 students in central Oklahoma.

Below is a list of the 2012 Community Foundation Scholar recipients by high school.

ASTEC Charter
Vu Hoang
Malycia Lewis


Bethany High School
Kelsey Douglas
Carmen Ramos
Nestor Ruiz
Zachary Sipes


Bishop McGuinness
Catholic High School
Zackary Barreto


Capitol Hill High School
Shiloh Fowler


Carl Albert High School
Rachel Lindsay
Mary Searock
Dylan Smith-Sutton
Tyler Williams


Casady School
Rachel Nolting


Choctaw High School
Lacey Hooten
John Pettigrew


Christian Heritage Academy
Wesley McDonald


Classen School of Advanced Studies
Lindsay Barron
Valerie Owens
Stanley Singer Jr.


Crooked Oak High School
Abigail Roberts


Deer Creek High School
William Dinkines
Ryan McCord
Sehrish Noorali


Del City High School
Marisol Medellin
Jamie Shawver
Kemi Sogunro
David Thibodeaux
Kelsey Webb
Mikhayla Westbrook
Mary Williams


Douglass High School
Katrina Mitchell


Edmond Memorial
High School
William King
Emma Ryan
Chase Thackerson


Edmond North High School
Alexandra Brooks
Levi Horton
Hayden Lenon
Zoe Pike


Edmond Santa Fe
High School
Alexa Chance
Jacklyn Chappell
Lindsay Weiss


El Reno High School
Jordan Weaver


Emerson Alternative
High School
Octavia Jordan


Guthrie High School
John Clark
Angela Hardin



Harding Charter
Preparatory School
Brianna Barry
Leslie Farias
Cristina Galicia
Sarahi Garcia
Sarah Kirby
Marisol Lopez
Mercades Richard


Harding Fine Arts Center
Jonathan Guerrero


Harrah High School
Haley Stevens


Heritage Hall
Spencer Ivy


John Marshall
High School
Kristina Berry
Bria Thompson


Jones High School
Christopher Humphrey
Courtney Jones
Alixahndrea Mashburn
Haylee Partlow


Luther High School
Ryan Stults


Midwest City High School
Alexus Barclay
Lauren Clonts
Angele Hebert
Amber Wilson


Millwood High School
Lady Alberta Connelly

Moore High School
Abby Archer
Sonja Ingram
Meaghan Moody
Courtney Thornton


Mount St. Mary
Catholic High
Teryn Martin
Joseph D. Reis-Herron
Jessica Reyes
Anthony Wilson


Mustang High School
Sydney Blair
Sierra Gilbert
Amy Le
Lauren Nelson
Jessica Nguyen
Shea Ransome
Viet Tran


Norman High School
Zachary Arrington
Claire Milligan
Brandon Reeves


Norman North
High School
Ashley Chrisman
Justine Smitherman
Emilee Thagard


Northeast Academy
Lynae Dowdell


Northwest Classen
High School
Prisma Duque
Becky Lavarn
Anhton Nguyen
Baotruyen Nguyen
Thi Nguyen
MyTien Pham
Carlos Rivera


Oklahoma Centennial
High School
Arion Thomas


Oklahoma Christian Academy
Laryn Dodd


Oklahoma Christian Schools
Logan Magill


Oklahoma School of
Science & Mathematics
Catherine Peters


Piedmont High School
Anna Ayadpoor
Conner Spradlin


Putnam City
High School
Joshua Birdwell
Taylor Davis
Ana Escobar
Steven Starks


Putnam City North
High School
Stephanie Amorim
Karis Cline
Rylee Flowers
Anh Lam
Krystyan Ramdass
Tallie Thompson
Alan Tran


Putnam City West
High School
Kelsi Gentry
Ashley Hodge
Ashlee Scott
Marisa Velasco


Santa Fe South
High School
Kassandra Amezquita
Jennifer Nunez


Southeast High School
Jairo Diaz
Eric Pham


Southmoore High School
Christian Howard
Diem Nguyen
Devin Peden
Amanda Perry
Kathleen Romano


Star Spencer
High School
Breionna Hayes
MyNiah Phillips
Tiana Smith


U.S. Grant High School
Brenda Cardenas
Saith Correa
Jocelyn Marquez
Anna Miranda
Carlos Morales


Western Heights
High School
Briana Flatley
Adriana Lujan
Ashley Magallanes


Westmoore High School
Alexandra Brown
Riley Cole
Kristen Davenport
Aaron Kwei


Yukon High School
Stephanie Braine
Juliann Moss
Brian Powell
Caitlyn Stanley

Founded in 1969, the Oklahoma City Community Foundation works with donors to create charitable funds that will benefit our community both now and in the future. For more information about our Trustee Scholarship Initiative and the more than 100 independent scholarship and award funds we administer, visit www.occf.org/scholarshipcenter.

To view photos of the 2012 Community Foundation Scholars, visit http://on.fb.me/CFS2012.