OKC Chamber to receive leadership award

Wednesday, March 5, 2014

by Staff Report

The Journal Record

OKLAHOMA CITY (JR) – The Greater Oklahoma City Chamber will be recognized for its role in the establishment and growth of Oklahoma’s bioscience industry with the Hall of Fame Leadership Award at the 2014 BioSummit and BioScience Awards Dinner on March 26 at the Skirvin Hilton Hotel.

More than 50 years ago, the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber led business and community leaders to support the development of a medical center in Oklahoma City, which now includes the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, the Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, the Dean McGee Eye Institute, the Children’s Hospital and the Veterans Administration hospital.

“The Oklahoma Health Center campus, the University Research Park, the state’s big presence at the BIO International Convention each year, all are direct outcomes of the chamber’s continued efforts and influence over the years,” said Carl Edwards, chairman of Presbyterian Health Foundation.

The Hall of Fame Leadership Award is one of four awards that will honor Oklahoma’s bioscience industry leaders. The winners of the Recognition Awards will be announced at the dinner.

Finalists for the Researcher Recognition Award are Robert Broyles, co-founder and CEO EpimedX, Oklahoma City; Richard Kopke, CEO and director of research at the Hough Ear Institute, Oklahoma City; and Lloyd Sumner, professor in the plant biology division at the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, Ardmore.

Innovation Recognition Award finalists are Caisson Biotech, Oklahoma City; Immuno-Mycologics, Norman; and VADovations, Oklahoma City.

Community Recognition Award finalists are Gabe Pardo, Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, Oklahoma City; Diana Spencer, Tulsa Community College, Tulsa; and Rod Whitson, The Banker’s Bank, Oklahoma City.

The BioSummit is presented by the Oklahoma BioScience Association.

Speakers will include Scott Meacham, president and CEO, i2E Inc.; William Paiva, managing director of the Oklahoma Life Science Fund; Von Allen, director of development at the Stephenson Cancer Center at OU; Clayton Duncan, CEO at Accele Biopharma; Doug Branch, director, Phillips Murrah; Dennis Shafer, president and CEO, Altheus Therapeutics; William A. Hagstrom, president and CEO, Crescendo Bioscience; Elaine Hamm, director, Proof of Concept Center and venture adviser for i2E Inc.; and Vikas Sharma, director, business development, Rexahn Pharmaceuticals, and former manager, business development, MedImmune.

The BioSummit will begin at 10 a.m. March 25 with a networking reception at 5 p.m. and the awards dinner at 6 p.m. Registration information is at www.i2E.org or www.okbio.org.