The Chickasaw Nation

The seat of the tribal government is located in Ada, Oklahoma, and is under the leadership of Bill Anoatubby, who has served as the Governor of the Chickasaw Nation since 1987. With more than 63,000 citizens, the Chickasaw Nation is the 12th largest federally-recognized tribe in the United States.

The tribal government is a democratic republic modeled after the federal government of the United States. Registered voters elect a governor and a lieutenant governor, 13 members of the tribal legislature and three justices on the tribal Supreme Court.

Jurisdictional territory of the Chickasaw Nation includes more than 7,600 square miles of south central Oklahoma, encompassing all or parts of 13 Oklahoma counties. The Chickasaw Nation employs more than 13,000 people.

Successful economic development is an integral part of the tribe’s mission to enhance the overall quality of life of the Chickasaw people. The Chickasaw Nation operates more than 100 businesses in the areas of manufacturing, energy, health care, media, technology, hospitality, retail and tourism. Much of its business revenue is invested to fund education, health care, housing and other services which directly benefit Oklahomans and their communities.

The Chickasaw Nation had an economic impact of more than $3.18 billion in 2015 and is actively involved in the State of Oklahoma and local communities, providing more than $69.5 million to fund health care research, educational institutions, Oklahoma history and culture and more.

Through programs in arts, humanities, history, culture and language, the Chickasaw Nation puts forth great efforts to preserve and educate about its rich heritage and traditions.

The Chickasaw Nation operates museums and historical sites including the Chickasaw Nation Capitol, the Council House Museum, the Chickasaw White House and the Chickasaw Cultural Center, and maintains important historical entities such as the Holisso Research Center.

For more information, visit

Contact The Chickasaw Nation.